It’s a Learning Process

I honestly can’t understand how quickly time has flown by!  The dreaded hell that is tech week is looming next week and then we open the following week.  Color me flabbergasted.

Not my production, but a cute design nonetheless

This time as an assistant stage manager has been weirdly dull, and I’m not sure if it’s because I’m relegated to solely being on book or being kind of kept out of the loop of certain things.  I’m not expected to know specifics, so I’m not included in certain emails, but then if the director asks, I need to read his/her mind and already know how to answer these things.  I’m just a little confused and frustrated with the system, although I know this is a stepping stone to being in charge.  I much prefer that if I’m being brutally honest.

I am amazingly organized when it comes to running a show, and on occasion I have found that my charts and graphs have helped us out. It’s complicated when I’m expected to know what my job is when all I really know is what the Stage Manager’s job is and since s/he’s doing that already I’m just a little lost.  As we’ve progressed I have noticed more and more things that I am in charge of and it gives me a sense of purpose and belonging.  Being as aimless and useless as I have, has been disheartening to say the least.  I like to be used to my full potential, but when those in charge don’t give me tasks to do, and I’m not exactly sure what it is that needs to be done, I feel a little stupid.

It’s an experience to be sure, and one I will undoubtedly grow from as time progresses, it’s just a little like being the second melodic guitar in a band and all I’m doing is the same thing that the lead guitar is doing.  Wait, does that work as a simile?  …I honestly have never been in a band nor have the ear for music like that. Whatever, you understand what I mean, right?

But to wrap up, I also got news that I will be an Assistant Director for another show, where I’ll get to learn all of that jazz as well, so hopefully it will be more guided than this experience has been thus far.

About Kathryn Meister

Production Stage Manager.
This entry was posted in Directing, Stage Management and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

