Moving Onwards and Upwards, and What to Bring for the Ride

I apologize for being away for so long from my blog, I had real life responsibilities to take care of.  Namely, I closed on Pericles back in early March, had my first ‘professional’ production for Belarusian Dream Theatre to bring awareness to what’s going on in Belarus, closed on my Assistant Directing gig for a new play called Higher Brain Function, and finally graduated University after many trials and heartaches.  So as you can tell, life has been a little busy.

Image

Since I have now achieved a degree of higher education, my next move is quite a literal one: I’m moving to NYC.  I’ve got an apartment, internships, and a way to pay the rent for it all and I leave in less than two weeks.  Exciting right?  There’s one thing that I know that I want to get together before my first internship where I will be the Assistant Stage Manager (ASM) and that is the Stage Manager Toolkit that my professor spoke about so often.  It’s basically an emergency kit for whatever you might need in a rehearsal, so I’ve compiled a list of things that need/should go in it.  If you have any suggestions or edits, I’d love to hear them!

  1. Two Stopwatches
  2. Pens/Pencils/Highlighters
  3. A 6-inch ruler
  4. A 3-ring hole punch
  5. Post-its/Flags
  6. Tape (Gaff, Electrical, Spike, Scotch)
  7. Safety Pins
  8. Bobby Pins
  9. Hair Tie
  10. Rehearsal Props

And of course you should always bring your script and a notepad.  This isn’t a complete list, but a start.  If you have anything to add, please do so in the comments below!  Coming into professional theatre is a learning process just as much as my degree.  I look forward to it and the adventures life takes me!

About Kathryn Meister

Production Stage Manager.
This entry was posted in Stage Management and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

