Finding the Time

This year has been so amazing and so tumultuous that I am so thankful to take a moment just to relax.

lavender fields

After working on twelve productions last year (can you believe it?) My resolution this year evolved a bit to incorporate the need to expand my personal life. I am so happy and so thankful that to start this year I have only worked on two productions in the span of four months and now have time to recover from surgery.

It’s been amazing and I am so grateful for the opportunities I’ve had, namely, I got to work on a truly visceral solo performance at La Mama that is going on to bigger and better things and to work on the biggest musical I’ve done to date, mostly solo.

Thanks to both of these (and the emails I continue to receive about gigs) I have no doubt that I made the right decision in moving to New York. My life and my heart are here and I am so excited to continue working this year on such amazing projects. But I am also very content to begin to have a life outside of the theater. I think that many of us get caught up in getting the next gig and finding our next project that we don’t stop to figuratively smell the roses. I have been putting in fifteen hour days regularly between my shows and my survival job that taking this time in recovery has really opened my eyes to how enjoyable life can be in this crazy city of ours.

If you have a second, seriously, just sit down and breathe. We work in one of the best cities in the world and create amazing works of art that I think we forget that we should take time for ourselves. I know I will.

13151453_10154905265813009_1251038294026201788_n

Additionally, don’t be afraid to try new things!

About Kathryn Meister

Production Stage Manager.
This entry was posted in life, Stage Management and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

